Andaman Islands

The Andaman Islands form an archipelago in the Bay of Bengal, east of India and to the west of Thailand. There are over 570 islands clustered together surrounded by clear blue water, white sands and untouched reefs. The Andamans have a total of 6,408 square kilometers. They are 467 kilometers long with an average width of 24 kilometers. Of the Andaman group of islands only 28 are inhabited.

The Andaman Islands are separated from the Nicobars by the 10-degree channel that is a 150 kilometers wide. Currently, the Nicobar Islands are not open to tourists.

Like most tropical islands, where tourism is one of the main industries, we have a large floating population. The last census held in 2011 showed the Andaman Islands with a population of 343,125.

The islands are a Union Territory of India and are governed from Port Blair by the local administration.

Most travellers visit Havelock Island in Ritchie’s Archipelago that is famous for its Radhanagar Beach # 07 which was voted ‘The Best Beach in Asia’ by the Time Magazine. Other popular destinations within the islands include Diglipur, Mayabunder, Long Island, Neil and Little Andamans.